Review: Newton Running Shoes

There will be quite a few of these kind of posts (reviews) on here, mainly about products, from nutrition, supplements, tech clothes, and MAYBE a couple about equipment like bikes or electronics; just keep in mind I’m not the spokesperson for these things, and what works for me may not work for you. MOVING ON… Here’s a review of what may possibly be the greatest running shoes ever made, (I’ll admit now I’m a little biased; I shaved almost a full 60 seconds off my mile pace the first 2 weeks after I switched). Newton Running Shoes: Distancia. http://www.newtonrunning.com/newton-products/the-shoes/mens-shoes/men-racers/men-neutral-racer-09
There’s a lot of ‘stuff’ that has come out into the mainstream the past few years about running; mainly about stride and efficiency and barefoot-running. If you’ve taken part in any running events in the past couple years, there’s a good chance you’ve seen some guy you probably immediately deemed as crazy, and shrugged off as having any chance of racing past you, because he was either barefoot, or in those weird looking toe-shoe/sock things… that is until he passed you, and looked like he was gliding without expending any energy while you pushed yourself as hard as you could while it felt like you were only using 10% of one lung and your whole body longed for the couch and a pillow. That’s at least what happened to me a couple years ago when I saw a guy line up next to me barefoot, and then disappeared in the distance. I wanted to know how he ran so effortlessly, and why I was having such a hard time, so I did some research. Barefoot=forefoot striking=efficient. I changed my stride; Newton’s took me even farther.
Newton shoes are based on technology that is for forefoot striking in your running stride, and while switching to these shoes can take time to learn how to use them (you read that right; you have to learn to use these shoes), the benefits are well worth it. The whole idea is why do we run differently when we put on shoes, than when we run barefoot like humans have for ‘x’ years? The answer is we shouldn’t, but with all that cushy foam and rubber underneath us, we can stomp with any stride, and be OK for the most part, but we’re not efficient; humans have become really REALLY good at running with really REALLY bad form. That equals low efficiency, and using our body all wrong when we run, which creates injury, and early fatigue, as well as a slew of other things… See the pattern? Newton’s fix all that.
Newton’s have no heel, as in the heel of the shoe is the same hight as the sole under the ball of your foot, letting your feet sit as they would when you’re barefoot. Running barefoot causes your body to run differently because without all the cushion, your body naturally runs so that it negates the impact of each stride, and uses the least amount of energy possible; same thing with the Newton shoes. Newton has this “Land-Lever-Lift” technology embedded in their shoes, making the wearer more efficient once adapted. With the majority of us runners running on hard, rough surfaces, running barefoot would quickly rip off the skin under our feet and destroy all the natural padding abound our bones, BUT; with Newton’s, we can run without destroying the structure of our feet. We can run further, and faster, with better efficiency, and less injuries, than we could landing on our heels with our leg completely extended in front of our body like so many runners have become accustomed too. While relearning how to run, stride and cadence(how fast your foot hits and leaves the ground), by switching takes a couple weeks of short runs for most, it pays huge dividends once mastered.As I mentioned earlier, I dropped a full minute off my pace, from a hard 8minute/mile half marathon, to 7minute/mile half, and a much easier effort even at the faster pace.
Final Say? Switch shoes, and learn correct form. While I have a friend who runs faster than me and is 100% heel striker, the VAST majority of runners will vastly improve when form improves; I’m sure he would too if I could talk him into changing… While I immediately took my Newton Dintancias out for a 17mile run (DON’T DO IT; I had my stride analyzed professionally, and was already a forfoot striker), most runners take 2-4 weeks or 2-4 mile runs every 2 days to make the switch, and you can still run in your old shoes mid-transition, so don’t freak out that you’ll have to miss runs. Great shoes; great ideas and research behind them, and great company that supports it’s users 110%.
Just like with all my reviews, email me any questions, and I’ll get to them as I can.

There will be quite a few of these kind of posts (reviews) on here, mainly about products, from nutrition, supplements, tech clothes, and MAYBE a couple about equipment like bikes or electronics; just keep in mind I’m not the spokesperson for these things, and what works for me may not work for you. MOVING ON… Here’s a review of what may possibly be the greatest running shoes ever made, (I’ll admit now I’m a little biased; I shaved almost a full 60 seconds off my mile pace the first 2 weeks after I switched). Newton Running Shoes: Distancia. http://www.newtonrunning.com/newton-products/the-shoes/mens-shoes/men-racers/men-neutral-racer-09     There’s a lot of ‘stuff’ that has come out into the mainstream the past few years about running; mainly about stride and efficiency and barefoot-running. If you’ve taken part in any running events in the past couple years, there’s a good chance you’ve seen some guy you probably immediately deemed as crazy, and shrugged off as having any chance of racing past you, because he was either barefoot, or in those weird looking toe-shoe/sock things… that is until he passed you, and looked like he was gliding without expending any energy while you pushed yourself as hard as you could while it felt like you were only using 10% of one lung and your whole body longed for the couch and a pillow. That’s at least what happened to me a couple years ago when I saw a guy line up next to me barefoot, and then disappeared in the distance. I wanted to know how he ran so effortlessly, and why I was having such a hard time, so I did some research. Barefoot=forefoot striking=efficient. I changed my stride; Newton’s took me even farther.     Newton shoes are based on technology that is for forefoot striking in your running stride, and while switching to these shoes can take time to learn how to use them (you read that right; you have to learn to use these shoes), the benefits are well worth it. The whole idea is why do we run differently when we put on shoes, than when we run barefoot like humans have for ‘x’ years? The answer is we shouldn’t, but with all that cushy foam and rubber underneath us, we can stomp with any stride, and be OK for the most part, but we’re not efficient; humans have become really REALLY good at running with really REALLY bad form. That equals low efficiency, and using our body all wrong when we run, which creates injury, and early fatigue, as well as a slew of other things… See the pattern? Newton’s fix all that.     Newton’s have no heel, as in the heel of the shoe is the same hight as the sole under the ball of your foot, letting your feet sit as they would when you’re barefoot. Running barefoot causes your body to run differently because without all the cushion, your body naturally runs so that it negates the impact of each stride, and uses the least amount of energy possible; same thing with the Newton shoes. Newton has this “Land-Lever-Lift” technology embedded in their shoes, making the wearer more efficient once adapted. With the majority of us runners running on hard, rough surfaces, running barefoot would quickly rip off the skin under our feet and destroy all the natural padding abound our bones, BUT; with Newton’s, we can run without destroying the structure of our feet. We can run further, and faster, with better efficiency, and less injuries, than we could landing on our heels with our leg completely extended in front of our body like so many runners have become accustomed too. While relearning how to run, stride and cadence(how fast your foot hits and leaves the ground), by switching takes a couple weeks of short runs for most, it pays huge dividends once mastered.As I mentioned earlier, I dropped a full minute off my pace, from a hard 8minute/mile half marathon, to 7minute/mile half, and a much easier effort even at the faster pace.    Final Say? Switch shoes, and learn correct form. While I have a friend who runs faster than me and is 100% heel striker, the VAST majority of runners will vastly improve when form improves; I’m sure he would too if I could talk him into changing… While I immediately took my Newton Dintancias out for a 17mile run (DON’T DO IT; I had my stride analyzed professionally, and was already a forfoot striker), most runners take 2-4 weeks or 2-4 mile runs every 2 days to make the switch, and you can still run in your old shoes mid-transition, so don’t freak out that you’ll have to miss runs. Great shoes; great ideas and research behind them, and great company that supports it’s users 110%.    Just like with all my reviews, email me any questions, and I’ll get to them as I can.

Penny for your thoughts...

