Hyperbaric Therapy

I’m no doctor, and I’m a bit of a skeptic, but when this kind of opportunity comes, and is being comped, I jump right in. Yes; I did feel like I was in some sort of space ship.

About a month ago, I started having trouble with what was thought to be my IT band. I freaked out just like all serious runners/triathletes/cyclist would, and immediatly went to see Nik at 1st Choice Healthcare for some ART rehab. After two weeks of work on my IT band, including plenty of scraping with resulting bruising, I got the offer to go sit in a hyperbaric chamber. The idea being that, because of the technology used, I would recover way faster.(turns out it was sciatia, caused from my lumbar muscles not firing right, from my major lack of stretching) So, of course, I jumped right in, because you should know me by now, and I don’t sit still well. (that last comment is pretty ironic as I’m all but bed-ridden right now with the flu; I tried to get some light training in. NOT. A. CHANCE.)

So, without trying to seem like I know what I’m talking about, here’s what the chamber does: the air around you is pressurized, and then the air pumped into the chamber, or ‘space tube’ as I’ve decided to call it, is saturated with far more O2 than the usual amount we breathe in. Because of the pressure and higher concentration of oxygen, the oxygen saturates the blood, and by-passes all the barrier, including the blood-brian barrier in the brain(hyperbaric therapy is used a lot in dementia, autism, and other mental illnesses), and boosts recovery exponentially. For the whole decription, check out the website: http://www.hypertc.com/

 

 

‘Space Tube’ therapy was used a few years back to rehab T.O. when he completely incurred a fracture in his tibia, and was the shining star of the Super Bowl just 6 weeks later in 2004. If you don’t want to believe that, my leg went from dark purple and black, to barely green after just 75 minutes in the chamber. I also talked to the owner about the brain damage I received due to my wreck, and I was shown MRI and CT scans of coma patients before and after hyperbaric therapy, and besides feeling like I was looking at a Christmas tree, I was told that the dead spots on my brain would be getting oxygen and healing again.  It was pretty cool too; with all the oxygen being pumped in, you get a little light headed, and I had my iPhone playing my ‘Chill’ playlist, so I fell asleep after a few minutes. I woke feeling more refreshed than ever. I’m going to try to go back once I’m off my flu meds(don’t think driving 40minutes up the highway on Theraflu/Tussin/ect is a good idea) to make sure all os this plague is gone, and I’m completely recovered, because TRIATHLON SEASON STARTS 1-1-11!!!

At only 50$ for an hour, for those who don’t get it comped, and all the amazing benefits, it’s a pretty cool tool for recovery, and making sure you’re getting the most out of your next workout. You may have a little bit of an issue if you’re claustrophobic, so I’ll leave you with a picture from the inside of the tube, but if you’re hurt, and you have a big race coming up that you just can’t fathom eating that 600$ entry fee, or missing out on a huge experiance, I’d had to the ‘space tube’

inside the hyperbaric chamber; there's also a big window right above your head
Penny for your thoughts...

