70.3 Training with PowerBar

Image

The 2013 season is coming to a close for most if it’s not already ended. I have one more race at Rev3 Florida, and all season long I’ve been fueled by PowerBar. From PRs to qualifying for National Championships and national teams, it’s been a solid year even with a couple setbacks. So here’s a quick shout out to PowerBar for their help.

Here is an example of my more-or-less regular training, and without giving away too many of my secrets, here’s what the end of the week days look like…

Thursday: Olympic distance sim—2×1650 swim – 1:20 hard ride – mile repeats brick run

Friday: Masters swim—5k

Saturday: Pre-bike aerobic run – 3:45 in the saddle simulating 70.3 racing

Sunday: 60-75 min ocean swim – 2:15 oly bike sim – descending mile repeats brick run

That’s….8, carry the 2…square root of….11:30ish for those 4 days. And doing that isnt possible without knowing how to fuel pre-during-post training. So I’m going to share my feeding schedule and give PowerBar major props for developing products that allow for it.

On days like Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday, I have breakfast (varies, but always with Biotta beet juice!!) and coffee about 90 minutes before I start training. 10-15 minutes into training, I take a Power Gel. EVERY 30-40 minutes after that I take another. I swap non-caffeinated and caffeinated (2 non-1 with) from the start to keep me focused and my head straight. I also take in a mouthful of diluted PERFORM every 10-15 minutes, and well as a mouthful of water before and after I take a gel. If we’re counting the top and bottom of each hour, that’s about 250-275 kcals or 60-70g CHO per hour. On days where it’s just a 5k swim, I go through a bottle of PERFORM in about 75-85 minutes, so only about 25g CHO, but sandwiched between meals. Because of this fueling strategy, my mind never enters that foggy stage, I’m able to hit back to back sessions where I’m around 85%-95% of my FTP on the bike that follow TT swim efforts and then followed by runs that are just below or at race effort. Then turn around and do it again the next day. (SCROLL DOWN FOR A BREAKDOWN WITH TIMES)

PowerBar keeps me primed and keeps me going during training, and keeps my recovery time lower than if I was skimping during training. We’ve all done it, and it’s not worth it. I’m about 16lbs lighter than I was this time last year, and I know a lot of that is because I’m not trying to cut what I eat pre-during-post training. Throw in some NormaTec recovery and COMPEX after, and you wake up that day after wondering if you actually trained the day before or if it was just a dream because you feel so fresh. Try implementing the strategy above into your training, and see how [much better] you perform. Now go out and pick up some Power Gels, PowerBar’s new Energy Blends, and fill up your bottles!

Image

SAMPLE DAY; 4+ HOURS

0600-COFFEE AND BREAKFAST ~200KCALS

0730-900 – GEL/SIP ON DRINK-45-60MIN OPEN WATER SWIM

0915-1245 – ALT CAF GEL/GEL EVERY :30 & DRINK EVERY :10-:15 – BEGIN BIKE (3:45 WITH WARM UP / 6X:30 INTERVALS AT 90% POWER / COOL DOWN BUILD TO 70.3 EFFORT) TAKE GEL AT 3:30 MARK & SLOW DRINKING LAST 10 MINUTES

1245-1340 – MILE REPEATS – GEL AFTER REP 1 OR 2 ABOUT :10-:15 IN IF GOING MORE THAN 3 ROUNDS. MAKE SURE YOURE HYDRATING AS WELL. I USE WATER ONLY WHEN I RUN.

1345 EAT!!! (MAYBE A SHAKE/FRUIT/BAR?) THEN EAT (REAL FOOD) AGAIN 30-60 MINUTES AFTER. NOW GO RECOVER…NAPS ARE NICE

Penny for your thoughts...

