Rev3 Venice RR: End the Season on a High

header-banner-florida

I have a rule, I’ve developed a rule over the last at least four years, that I end my triathlon race season by racing on my birthday, or at least as close to it as I can get. A couple years ago it was MiamiMan where I got hit by a car. Last year it was Rev3 Venice Olympic. this year it was the same venue, but the half distance. Bittersweet as I ended my season, and the big blue R of Rev3 becomes Challenge-Family’s red-and-white. (Which is very very VERY exciting.)

challenge-americas-logo

The race was the day after my birthday, which meant spending my actual birthday day driving across the state. I got my first birthday present when my girlfriend called to tell me she met her goal of going sub-2 in a half marathon (a PR by like 8 minutes!!) that evening. The next present was far more tangible. And came in the form of a surprise fan on race day…but more on that in a minute.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 8.46.49 PM

Come race morning, I slunk into transition maybe 20 minutes before it closed, in my usually fashion. T set up, I [literally] slid into my b70 wettie since I was coated in TRISLIDE, and made way down to the ocean for the first leg. Unbeknownst to me, I had my own personal photographer there to document the race. So, instead of boring you with the conversations the voices in my head screamed at each other as I swam, cycled, and strode my way from start to finish, I’ll let the numbers and her photos tell the tale.

BY THE NUMBERS:

0:33:45

0:02:15

2:31:03

0:01:16

1:29:07 (PR)

EQUALS

4:37:25

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 8.53.50 PM Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 8.54.08 PM

BY THE PICTURES:

IMG_2792

IMG_1532
‘There will be stripper they said…’

IMG_5912

'Dammit fingers it's just a snap!! C'mon!!'
‘Dammit fingers it’s just a snap!! C’mon!!’

IMG_4137

IMG_9713

And people say race photos are never pretty. Look at how graceful I am
And people say race photos are never pretty. Look at how graceful I am

IMG_0028

IMG_2713

IMG_7422

IMG_9199

IMG_0248

And that was how the day went. Breaking that 90-minute barrier and a girl cheering me along the course are pretty solid 26th birthday gifts. So now I focus on the off-season. On form. And recovery. On technique. On exploring things not swim-bike-run. But those too. Goal 1: Master the Flip Turn; I’m happy I don’t have a personal photographer cataloging that train wreck.

images

I have my 2015 race schedule ready to go, but i’m waiting until my do-nothing-off-seaosn is over to reveal it. Is yours ready? What are your plans next year? A races? Goals? Post them in the comments!!

One thought on “Rev3 Venice RR: End the Season on a High

Penny for your thoughts...

