March Madness

C3D

This isn’t a post about basketball. All I can tell you about March Madness is that I know Duke was in the Final Four and that my 10 year old brother is a sports stats phenom who’s bracket is going to win…for the 4th year in a row. He’s the rainman of sports. Anyway…this is a post about the madness that the last month entailed. In pictures + captions form.

Race season started in March at Los Olas in Ft. Lauderdale.
Race season started in March at Los Olas in Ft. Lauderdale.
I love palm trees
I love palm trees
Photo cred of my run to Gema
Photo cred of my run to Gema
Race didn't go like I wanted it, but it's always nice to leave with some hardware.
Race didn’t go like I wanted it, but it’s always nice to leave with some hardware.
Then this came... The plan was to go into graduate school for a doctorate of physical therapy, but it's crazy competitive. And this is guaranteed. I've taken care of all the red tape (drug tests/fingerpriting/etc), and orientation is in a couple weeks.
Then this came… The plan was to go into graduate school for a doctorate of physical therapy, but it’s crazy competitive. And this is guaranteed. Plus lots of other factors I won’t bore you with. I’ve taken care of all the red tape (drug tests/fingerpriting/etc), and orientation is in a couple weeks.

IMG_1046

And then the road bike got a pretty new chain...because up next comes...
And then the road bike got a pretty new chain…because up next comes…
GAPS CAMP!!!!!!
GAPS CAMP!!!!!!
We're smiling, but it definitely snowed the night before. Stupid weather in the mountains...
We’re smiling, but it definitely snowed the night before. Stupid weather in the mountains…
You will never see a happier couple. Those who ride together...
You will never see a happier couple. Those who ride together…
This is one of the shorter mountains up there. Notice I keep saying 'mountains' and not 'hills'
This is one of the shorter mountains up there. Notice I keep saying ‘mountains’ and not ‘hills’
I stayed up Atlanta-ish past camp to continue my own mini camp. Gotta take advantage of the hills when you can; we don't have those down here. And I got to deal with this ridiculousness for an extra 7 days
I stayed up Atlanta-ish past camp to continue my own mini camp. Gotta take advantage of the hills when you can; we don’t have those down here. And I got to deal with this ridiculousness for an extra 7 days
Obviously she's the fun one. It's a bit like the drama masks; yeah?
Obviously she’s the fun one. It’s a bit like the drama masks; yeah?
1.5 mile open water swim in Altoona to start my big training day
1.5 mile open water swim in Altoona to start my big training day
They keep this in the Budweiser plant parking lot because the BCC routes are so popular. And because some athletes made this sign warranted.
They keep this in the Budweiser plant parking lot because the BCC routes are so popular. And because some athletes made this sign warranted.
Then the Beautiful Backroads Century in Cartersville. The 100 mile loop had been on my triathlon-bucket-list for awhile. Though someone should have told me it was 4 miles long...
Then the Beautiful Backroads Century in Cartersville. The 100 mile loop had been on my triathlon-bucket-list for awhile. Though someone should have told me it was 4 miles long… Run after but there’s no picture of that, so did it really happen?
Came home to find this... Was a goal last season. Thank you Peak Racing for help making it happen.
Came home to find this… Was a goal last season. Thank you Peak Racing for help making it happen.
New Orleans 70.3 is next, < 2 weeks away. Oh wow... That's closer than I realized...*panic training commences*
New Orleans 70.3 is next, < 2 weeks away. Oh wow… That’s closer than I realized…*panic training commences*
Penny for your thoughts...

