New Orleans 70.3 Race Report

Roadtrip form Jax to NOLA...8.5 hours & 565 miles
Roadtrip form Jax to NOLA…8.5 hours & 565 miles

Yesterday was spent in the Big Easy, which is quite the misnomer for the half distance triathlon me and some 2000 other racers took part in. Yeah it’s flat, and yeah maybe it’s a little windy, but it’s nothing that was any different than what Florida throws at me almost every ride. What made it such a sufferfest, and sent me into the med tent for the first time ever, well 1st time that wasn’t a result of some degree of lacerations, was an lack of attention to details on my part, and the weather forecast being super wrong. ‘Overcast with rain and some thunderstorms’, they said. 85*+ with no clouds is what materialized. As for my mistakes…autopilot took over as soon as I woke up that morning. I took in my extra cup of coffee as always on race day, and then a couple hours later a caffeine supplement I’ve been using before big days over the last month or so. Being on autopilot I didn’t think about the combined effects, and while my mental focus and time to fatigue got a great boost out of the combo, I peed more times during the race (I FINALLY PEED ON MY BIKE!!!!) than I do during a normal day. That’s what led to the dehydration that almost caused me to pass out on the run, on the ‘shuffle’, and how my body sucked in 2 bags of fluid to make the world stop spinning. I was on track for a huge PR, and then after the first 5k of the run I stopped sweating and the wheels just fell off. Also…thanks to whoever knocked my bike over in transition between me dropping it off the day before the race and race morning. Luckily the course was flat and I didn’t need but 2 gears since that’s all my really REALLY bent rear dérailleur could do. How bent? Well even at the cog down from the top/biggest, the rd rubs my disc. Thanks guy…. Congrats to everyone who raced. Peak Racing Team had a solid showing and everyone dug super deep. Nice start to the season for most. Below are pictures, taken by my coach and wonderful girlfriend and personal race photographer. All in all, I learned a lot. And I get another shot in less than a month at Challenge Knoxville’s half. It ain’t a PR course, but we’ll just see about that.

Preface day activities: WWII museum
Prerace day activities: WWII museum.
Team pictures. Couple selfies. Being super touristy.
Team pictures. Couple selfies. Being super touristy.
Preface dinner. Quinoa and black beans topped with salsa.
Prerace dinner. Quinoa and black beans topped with salsa.
The roads in NOLA are a bit sketchy, so the preface WU/gear check was in the room on the trainer. I'm obviously studying the course maps...
The roads in NOLA are a bit sketchy, so the prerace WU/gear check was in the room on the trainer. I’m obviously studying the course maps…
Prerace WU
Prerace WU
And the prize for worst superhero ever goes to...
And the prize for worst superhero ever goes to…
'Y'all are not nearly as excited about the swim as I am...'
‘Y’all are not nearly as excited about the swim as I am…’
Prerace. Calm. Ready. Sherpa & #1 cheerleader ready.
Prerace. Calm. Ready. Sherpa & #1 cheerleader ready.
SWIM!!!!!!!!!!
SWIM!!!!!!!!!!
180* turn #1
180* turn #1
Always take the inside.
Always take the inside.
Run start. Feeling bulletproof.
Run start. Feeling bulletproof.
Taking the phrase 'make love to the camera' a little too literally.
Taking the phrase ‘make love to the camera’ a little too literally.
There's a reason you can't see my face. I'm beyond rough here
There’s a reason you can’t see my face. I’m beyond rough here. 1 Mile from the finish. Thanks Luis for the pic.
'Stop the Garmin. crawl to medical'
‘Stop the Garmin. crawl to medical’
'My cells... I can feel them drinking. From the inside...'  I was really out of it. Two nags and I still peed brown for 36 hours.
‘My cells… I can feel them drinking. From the inside…’
I was really out of it. Two nags and I still peed brown for 36 hours.
Med tent. She's obviously doing better than me at this point.
Med tent. She’s obviously doing better than me at this point.
Final placement aint all that bad. A whopping 107 in my AG. And you see where the wheels fell off.
Final placement aint all that bad. A whopping 107 in my AG. And you see where the wheels fell off.

 

Penny for your thoughts...

